liferest.blogg.se

Hbo watchme. movie or book
Hbo watchme. movie or book






  1. #Hbo watchme. movie or book full#
  2. #Hbo watchme. movie or book series#

#Hbo watchme. movie or book full#

You know, this is sort of like the first interview on the first hardcore full day of press, and all I think about is how I’m going to answer that question because it’s a reasonable question to ask. Over and over again not just while I was incepting it but while I was making it and certainly now. Are you concerned about being the white guy now telling that tale and the lens through which you’re telling that tale? Then everything kind of went into the stew and this Watchmen is what came out.ĭEADLINE: You noted that a number of people in recent years have looked into telling the horrible and hidden history of the racist massacre that occurred in the Greenwood neighborhood of Tulsa almost 100 years ago. But if I were to tell this story in the context of a larger, wider known, pop culture franchise, maybe it would come to more people’s attention. Now, I’m sure that many more talented people than I have been trying to make a story out of this. Then I ordered some book and I read them. Now, I had never heard of Black Wall Street and Tulsa, Oklahoma and what are these things. In that article, as I mentioned at TCA, he wrote about the raiding of Black Wall Street in 1921. LINDELOF: The one that stayed with me is The Case for Reparations. Then I was reading a lot of Ta-Nehisi Coates, and I read his book Between the World and Me and all of his essays in The Atlantic. What is the undefeatable evil that superheroes can never defeat? So that was another question that was sort of swirling around in my head.

hbo watchme. movie or book

LINDELOF: The beginnings of the idea for this season of Watchmen started with the question of what’s the political landscape in 2019 versus what the political landscape was in the mid-1980s. In concocting your own Watchmen, how did those themes come to the fore for you? I am proud of what we did but I’m also very nervous about it.ĭamon Lindelof’s Goal For HBO’s ‘Watchmen’: “Live Up To The Name” – New York Comic ConĭEADLINE: You have spoken about how this is not a version of Alan Moore and Dave Gibbon’s iconic comic, and the swirling issues of white supremacy and American history that you wanted to tackle. I hope that we made something original, something surprising, something engaging, something worthy of discourse, something dangerous, something interesting, all the adjectives that I affix to the original Watchmen. LINDELOF: (laughs) Well, does this show deserve to stand shoulder to shoulder with the original 12 issues? I’m the least qualified person on the planet to say that. I hope that by the end of these nine episodes that what we’ll see is very opposite poles. I think that hardcore fans of Watchmen, devotees like myself will have a much different experience than people who had no familiarity with Watchmen. I do feel like the show itself is a Rorschach test. I don’t know if the audience is going to have a similar experience. The honest answer is sometimes I feel like, yes, we got very, very close to it and other times I’m banging my head against a wall in frustration. LINDELOF: You know, I honestly don’t know if this is the Watchmen that I wanted to make.

hbo watchme. movie or book

So, now that it’s going public is this ultimately the Watchmen you wanted to make?

#Hbo watchme. movie or book series#

The Lost alum also addresses being the white guy in the room, if there will be more seasons of Watchmen and the fallout from The Hunt, which was suddenly pulled for good by Universal in August after controversy exploded around the politically themed thriller.ĭEADLINE: Watchmen has been kept uncover more than a Presidential call to the Ukraine of late, dribbles here and there, but today you’re previewing the series at New York Comic Con. Robot' Final Season & 'Peaky Blinders'Īt NYCC for a panel and screening Friday, Lindelof sat down with me to talk about the long shrouded in secrecy series and what’s the story behind the story he and HBO are telling in the nine episodes of the Louis Gossett Jr, Don Johnson, Jeremey Irons and Hong Chau co-starring show. The Show To Watch This Week #NYCC Edition: 'Batwoman,' 'Walking Dead,' 'Mr.








Hbo watchme. movie or book